coRpSE
Currently Offline

Most Played:
This week: 77.7hrs.
Total Played: 195hrs.

There is life outside of the game.
votes: 7
[OPINION RANT]

Okay, this is a weird one, but I got into a conversation about which I like better, PDO or MySQLi. I have been keeping off this topic for a few years because it seems to be as much of an opinion topic than anything else. But in our conversation, it got pretty good, and I think I changed him a bit, but I figured I would make this post. To start off, I look at this topic like which is better, chocolate or vanilla ice cream, there is no right answer.

MySQL is a specific type of database that is commonly used and easy to use. PDO is a tool that helps you connect to different types of databases, including MySQL, but it may be less efficient than using MySQL directly. The choice between the two depends on whether your website will only use MySQL or if it may need to work with other types of databases in the future. I find that PDO is better for more of beginners, where MySQL is more for advanced users. In speed, they are pretty much the same, but the edge out is to MySQL since PDO, by default, uses client side prepared statements' emulation, which can slow it down.

Overall, I say this, here are my top 5 reasons why MySQL is better than PDO:
  1. MySQLi is specifically designed to work with the MySQL database, which means it can offer more efficient performance when working with this specific database.

2. MySQLi provides more flexible programming options as it supports both object-oriented and procedural styles, which makes it easier to work with the database in a way that suits your needs. - [UpDated] I put more info on what this is at the bottom of the post.

3. MySQLi has additional features such as the ability to execute multiple statements at once, and support for server-side prepared statements, which can make your database interactions more efficient.