coRpSE
Currently Offline

Most Played:
This week: 77.7hrs.
Total Played: 195hrs.

There is life outside of the game.
votes: 7
Expand

As for many of you that watched video tutorials done by me over the years, one thing you probably have noticed, the one consistent thing, has been the editor I have been using. I have been using the same code editor for 14 years now, back when I first got the Macromedia 8 suite. Dreamweaver has been my go-to editor since then, and have tried out many others, but everything else just felt to fall short of what I could do with Dreamweaver. Well, unfortunately, Adobe decided to stop selling their products, and instead, are renting their software. I refuse to rent software and refuse to support that ecosystem, so I went on a quest to find something that was as good as I have, but without the rental ecosystem.

Well, I will put my list in order from my overall favorite, to my least favorite, (but still good), and a short stent on my experience with it and a link to the download.
Mind you that this is not just 5 min of testing and that's it, though some that I installed and then uninstalled was less than 5 min, but I been working on this for weeks/months so everything in this list have gotten a fair try.

To visit their sites, click the program name to visit their site.

1. Please login to see this link
    Get registered or Log in
    :

My top code editor comes from actually the last company I would have thought, Microsoft. This code editor is the closest I have found to what I have been using for the past decade+, and the best part of it is, it is open source. This powerful code editor offers so much, and with its extensive library of plugins, makes it my top choice and is recommended for those that want to learn to code more than just a few minor edits here and there.

Pros
    • Extensive library of plugins
    • comes with a dark mode right away, (may not be a big deal for you, but for me, it's a huge +)