3015 Posts
coRpSE
Currently Offline

Most Played:
This week: 77.7hrs.
Total Played: 195hrs.

There is life outside of the game.
votes: 7
Very recently, I have been learning about Headers and what I can use them for. I started learning about them due to a new system that Google is coming out with called Google FLoC, or Federated Learning of Cohorts (FLoC). I am not going to go into details on what that is, but if you want to know more, check out the links below.
Please login to see this link
Get registered or Log in
Get registered or Log in

But while looking for a way to block this, one of the suggestions to block was for those of us that have our websites on Apache. Well, how do you know if you site is running Apache. Easy, usually you can see it in the details on the backend of your website, sometimes your host will tell you if you are or are not, but the other big giveaway is if your site uses the .htaccess file. If your site does use it, then you are on an Apache server.

Another way is to create a blank php file on your desktop and put this little bit of code into it and run it, when everything comes up, at the top, it will say something like "Server Software:, and if it says Apache, then your good, but if it's empty, do a search for "Apache", if it says anything in there about it, there is a good chance your running Apache. If your running IIS, Nginx, ect..., anything other than apache, then you will need to look up and research on your own how to implement these headers. Most webhost I have come upon use Apache and I only can remember 1, maybe 2 that did not use Apache.

Well, enough of that. What I learned besides how to protect others from the Google FLoC, was also that there are some security headers that you should put in place to not only help secure up your website, but also protect your users that come to your site.

Well, how do I know if I already have these in place?